Living in the Margins

I’m finally writing again.

It’s been on my mind for a while and yet I had not made time for it. But, I’ve made plenty of time to worry about it, think of things I should be writing/want to write, and live with lots of “should haves, would haves, could haves”… but didn’t. So, I decided to go ahead a blog about what’s been on my mind lately. Hopefully, the more I write the more focused the blogs will be. Right now, I’m just sharing what’s on my mind in a random fashion. Hey, I never promised CrazyBusy CrazyBeautiful would be a linear/well-organized/run-of-the-mill blog. In fact, the title may indicate it’s a bit about enjoying the beauty in the absurdities of life. 🙂

Enough suspense. Recently, I’ve been thinking a lot about what it means to “Live in the Margins.” I’m not sure how this phrase got in my mind, but I think I am going to have to truly  accept this philosophy if I plan to live MY life to the fullest.  I’ve mentioned it before, but so you don’t think I’m exaggerating… I’m busy. I work 80 hours a week (not always including paperwork and other random work-related things), I am a new home owner, I have to study after work, I have to keep this new house clean and welcoming, I choose to remain active and workout 5-6x a week, and I have to find a way to maintain balance (you know, in ALL the free time I have left.)

So that got me to thinking… what time is left? Not much. I have few “free” hours but I have a lot of things I’d like to accomplish outside of work. ::Enter philosophy here:: Living in the Margin for me would mean, I am going to have to wake up a little earlier and be a bit more organized so I can have some free time and fun in the Crazy Busy, Crazy Beautiful life I’m living…

Picture this (any Golden Girl fans out there? No? Oh ok, just me. Carry on…)  ** It’s 5:30 am. I’m sleeping soundly and the alarm goes off for my AM workout. Out of my blurry, barely opened eyes, I hear the alarm and think 5:30 am!?!? No way. I don’t have to be there til 7:30 and I went to bed at midnight… I’ll sleep til 6 then get up and do a quick workout. 6 am quickly rolls around and I think… well, I probably won’t get a great workout and I’m so tired. 5 more mins. After six consecutive snoozes, It’s 6:40 and I have about 25 mins to get ready and head to work before I’m late… and now, my well-planned morning of exercise, prayer, and meditation is ruined. So what’s next? Jump out of bed, take the dog out, shower, get dressed, breakfast? nope. forget it! I’m late… and rush, rush, rush, until I get to work at EXACTLY 7:29. whew, one min early. I’m good. **

Now, this may not be what other people do in the morning. But  if I’m not careful, these late nights/early mornings will have me abandoning my plans and thinking I’m squeezing more out of my day by waiting until the last minute to do everything. Not to mention, the added stress of rushing non-stop ESPECIALLY in the morning, is not good for your mental health. Maybe I would benefit from missing 30 mins of sleep to pick-out my clothes, make my lunch the night before, and wake up peacefully and have some MARGIN in my life!!

Living in the Margin will mean something different for everyone.

For me, this means I will have to be a better planner.

Set limits. No, I can’t stay up until midnight (which is ironic in itself, because I’m writing this blog at 1 am… but  I took a nap earlier and I’m still practicing this skill myself!)

Make sure to plan some BUILT-IN time for relaxation/meditation/journaling/planning. Something that allows you to sit down and think of the bigger picture of your life. There is more to life than being busy , making money,  and doing what you’re doing right now. At some point, you’ve got to dream bigger, aim higher, strive to be more than you are right now. If all you do is go through the motions of life (go to sleep, wake up, go to work, eat, sleep, drink, repeat), you are going to have a hard time reaching your goals.

What goals?

Right. So the longer you live on autopilot, the more more likely it is that you don’t even know what you want. Wandering through life aimlessly does nothing but make time pass and leave you feeling unfulfilled. So take some time to dream and strive and imagine your greatest life. Then set some goals.

And in the meanwhile, take some time to be kind to yourself. The journey is self-love and no matter how busy you are, there is always time to find some fun in this CrazyBusy CrazyBeautiful life.

***********************************************************************************

Proof that I am making time to enjoy life despite my lack of free-time… I threw a Clothing Swap party yesterday that was SO much fun. It wasn’t that hard to plan (and I put it all together in 3 days). I had a great time with my friends and made lasting memories (and I have the pics to prove it). But… that’ll be a story for another day.

And on that note, Night!

❤ always,

LyLy

Leave a Reply

